Untitled design (2).jpg
BUTTERFLY GARDEN alt 3 (1).jpg

The Butterfly Garden 
Sophie's debut novel is out now!

"Maggie and Erin's relationship is pure joy, and when the likes of Fred and Jose join them it makes for even more pleasure off the page. From Cornwall to Costa Rica, this book delights over and over. With the added bonus of learning about butterflies on the way. A difficult storyline as a subplot handled delicately and sensitively, as well as heartache along the way, this book has it all!

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Emma Reviewer

ebook, paperback and audio version is available

Untitled design (2).jpg

The Butterfly Garden

I blamed my son for the death of my daughter…

When twenty-five-year-old Erin flees London for Cornwall and takes a job at Hookes End, a huge house clinging precariously to the Cornish cliffs, all she knows about it are the stories people tell. The owner, reclusive novelist and butterfly enthusiast Maggie, has kept the curtains of her dusty house drawn for many years. But now she is dying, and Erin, seeing the shadows that cross Maggie’s face, wants to help in any way she can.

 

Years ago, Maggie’s only son Lucas ran away to the other side of the world and the searing heat of the Costa Rican jungle. Maggie is desperate to see Lucas again – there is something she needs him to know.

 

Erin wants to help Maggie find peace. But when she travels to the warm white sands and tropical butterfly gardens of Costa Rica to find Lucas, it becomes very clear that he is hiding something too.

 

As Erin unravels the webs of deceit entangling mother and son, she learns about the terrible tragedy that changed their lives forever: the night when a little girl in a fairy nightdress went missing. But with Maggie’s time fast running out, is it too late for them to find the forgiveness they need to move on?

 

A heart-wrenching page-turner about a family ripped apart by guilt and lies. Set against the storms of the Cornish coast and the silvery sands of Costa Rica, The Butterfly Garden is a story of love, loss and letting go. Fans of Jojo Moyes, Harriet Evans and Lucinda Riley will be gripped.

Square Graphic - The Butterfly Garden 3.jpg
Untitled design (2).jpg
Sophie headshot .jpg

Sophie's  Story

My debut novel The Butterfly Garden is out now.

My second novel will be out in February 2022.

I am also an avid reader and regularly publish book recommendations on social media. Check out my latest reads here.

I live in East Sussex with my husband, four children, cats, dogs and bunnies. And when I am not writing or ferrying the kids around the countryside I am busy converting our house into a retreat venue so watch this space for up and coming writing retreats!

 

Untitled design (2).jpg
What people have said about The Butterfly Garden 

Full of wonderful, flawed characters who seem to leap from the page (please can Angela have her own novel?) The Butterfly Garden was a joy - a book that broke my heart and then stitched it back together again. Sophie Anderson is one to watch!'

Emily Elgar

Author